New Legacy Youth Alliance Members Make Grant Decisions

The new members of the Legacy Youth Alliance awarded their first grants last week. The Legacy Youth Alliance is a program supported by the Ottumwa Regional Legacy Foundation which provides an opportunity for area youth to build leadership skills while helping out youth causes in their schools and communities. The following nonprofit youth projects were awarded: 

  • Rocket Food Pantry– Seed funds to start up the Rocket Closet at the Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont High School. The Rocket Closet will provide school supplies, food, clothes and hygiene items for students in needs and will be operated by student volunteer in the Silver Cord program.
  • Cardinal/Pekin Trap Shooting Team– Seed funds to start up a collaborative partnership between Cardinal and Pekin High School for a Trap Shooting Team. Sophie Langford, a sophomore at Cardinal High School, said she really likes that two rival schools are working together to provide an extracurricular activity for youth that might not participate in school sports.
  • Greater Ottumwa Vocal Arts Project- Grant funds will support the production and performance of Disney’s “Newsies” at the 8th Annual Performing Arts Festival, June 12-26, 2020. The youth participants will have the opportunity to work with and learn from professional performers, arts educators, and theater staff from all around the Midwest.

The Legacy Youth Alliance offers two grant funding cycles per calendar year. Any 501(c) 3 Not-for-Profit that is youth-serving or supports a youth-led project may seek funding up to $2,500 through the Legacy Youth Alliance. The next competitive grant cycle opens February 1, 2020. Application information can be found on the foundation website,  or by contacting one of the 2019-2020 Legacy Youth Alliance members listed below.

 Cardinal High School: Grant Pedersen, sophomore, or Sophie Langford, sophomore

EBF High School: Allison Walker, junior, or Carson Stetter, sophomore

Ottumwa High School: Ryan Eddy, senior, Hayden Short, junior, or Kaitlyn Baeza, freshman

Pekin High School: Faith Goudy, senior, Kaitlyn Emery, senior, Alex Babcock, junior, Sarah Eubanks, sophomore, or Taylor Sylvester, sophomore.