Laboratory Control Ltd. Health Career Scholarship Program

The Laboratory Control Ltd Health Care Career Scholarship Fund is an endowed fund administered by the Ottumwa Regional Health Legacy Foundation for the express purpose of scholarship support for individuals interested in pursuing a career in health care. The intent of the scholarship program is to invest in the education of those students that may look to southeast Iowa for employment in health care following the completion of their studies. To date, over $425,000 – 315 scholarships – have been awarded to students in 35 communities disbursed throughout the ten county area.

Awards vary in size, beginning with a $1,000 minimum and increasing as funds are available. Awards may be used for educational expenses, including tuition, books and other fees, and are paid directly to the student’s college or university. Awards are given without regard to race, color, creed, religion, gender, disability or national origin. Minorities are encouraged to apply.

  • Applicant must reside in one of the following ten counties: Appanoose, Davis, Jasper, Jefferson, Henry, Keokuk, Mahaska, Monroe, Van Buren, and Wapello.
  • Applicant must be enrolled in a state or nationally accredited program of study that focuses on health care.
  • Applicant must be high school graduates who are enrolling in at least the second year of their course of study. Award will be contingent upon proof of registration/enrollment.
  • Applicant must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher on a 4.00+ scale.
  • Applicant must apply each year with preference given to previous award recipients; a limit of four (4) awards per student; an award in one year does not automatically result in an award the following year.
  • Applicant must be focused on one of the eligible “fields of study” within health care.

Eligible fields of study include:  ARNP, BSN, Certified Occupational Therapy Assistant, Dental Hygienist, Dentist, Dietician, Health Care Administrator, Health Educator, Medical Laboratory Technician, Medical Laboratory Technologist, Mental Health Counselor, MSN, Nuclear Medicine Technologist, Occupational Therapist, Optometrist, Orthodontist, Paramedic, Pharmacist, Physical Therapist, Physical Therapy Assistant, Physician, Physician Assistant, Podiatrist, Polysomnogrophy Technologist, Psychologist, Radiation Therapist, Radiology Technologist, Registered Health Information Tech, Rehabilitation Counselor, Respiratory Therapist, RN, Social Worker, Speech Language Pathologist, Surgery Technician and Undergraduate Pre-Professional (Pre-Med, Pre-Dental, etc.).

Award Selection

The Foundation’s Scholarship Selection Committee is comprised of Foundation board members and staff, representation from Collaborative Lab Services/Laboratory Control Limited, professionals in the area of health care and health education as well as community volunteers. Current committee members include Byron Leu (chair), Janey Huston, Lydia Bryant, Steve Haigh, Lori Reeves, Nanette Everly,  Dr. Deb Miller, Cathy Pringle Maletta, Sandra Hendred, Amy Nossaman, Kelly Genners and Steve Dust.


The Scholarship Selection Committee will give preference to applicants that are/have:

  • An award recipient from the previous year
  • Expressed a desire to seek employment in southeast Iowa upon completion of studies
  • Pursuing educational studies in a health career identified as a workforce shortage area for southeast Iowa
Revision Policy

The general conditions and procedures under which scholarships are made are subject to periodic review by the Foundation’s Scholarship Selection Committee and the Foundation’s board of directors.

To Apply

Eligible applicants must complete an online application utilizing the link below. In addition, applicants will be required to upload the following documents: proof of enrollment form, transcript and (1) letter of reference.

  Applications will be accepted beginning February 1, 2021 and ending at 5:00 p.m. CST on March 31, 2021.

online application

Reviewer Login